We are pleased to announce the winners of the annual SDA Awards for the 2023-2024 season, as voted on by our members. These awards highlight the outstanding accomplishments of SDA players and the dedicated efforts of the season’s tournament promoters.

Men’s World No. 1, and the first Egyptian player to top the SDA Rankings, Sam Khalifa, was voted Men’s Player of the Year after claiming three titles this season. Two of these titles were won alongside World No. 2, Chris Callis, earning them the Men’s Team of the Year award. Women’s World No. 5, Nikki Todd, received the highest player accolade, being voted Women’s Player of the Year. Additionally, World No. 1, Suzanna Pierrepont, and World No. 2, Georgina Stoker, won Women’s Team of the Year following their victories at the Heights Casino Open and World’s Best at Westchester.

Sam Khalifa was also named Most Improved Male Player after his exceptional rise to the top of the rankings. The Most Improved Female Player honor was shared between newcomer Jana Shiha and Canadian player Jackie Moss. Moss, partnered with fellow Calgary resident Jaime Laird, reached the final of the Canadian Nationals and claimed their first SDA title at the LA LocalWorld Open, achieving career-high rankings of World No. 10 and No. 11, respectively.

Rookie of the Year honors were awarded to Cornell alum Andrew Muran and Egyptian player Jana Shiha. Muran began the season with a wildcard entry into the Big Apple Open and ended the season ranked in the top 30. Shiha earned her Rookie title following a win at the MFS Boston ProAm, partnered with last season’s Rookie of the Year, Line Hansen, elevating her to World No. 8.

Nikki Todd once again received the Women’s Sportsmanship Award, while Chris Callis was the recipient of the Men’s Sportsmanship Award.

The Men’s Event of the Year was awarded to the season’s largest tournament, the Kellner Cup, hosted jointly by the Racquet and Tennis Club, The University Club of New York, and The Union Club. This biennial event featured all of the top men’s teams and was won by Team of the Year recipients, Sam Khalifa and Chris Callis. The Women’s Event of the Year once again recognized the exceptional leadership of the MFS Boston Pro Am, hosted by The University Club of Boston, as well as the North American Open.

Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you to everyone who made this season a success.

View past award recipients here.

Previous articleA Look Back At The 2023-24 SDA Pro Doubles Season