The annual SDA Awards honoring the 2022-2023 season have been announced, highlighting the accomplishments of the men and women of the SDA and the efforts of the season’s tournament promoters. All the awards were nominated and voted on by the tour professionals.

Men’s world No. 1 James Stout was voted Men’s Player of the Year for the second time after claiming three titles this season, two alongside world No. 3 Scott Arnold, with whom he earned Men’s Team of the Year. This season’s Team of the Year award marks Stout’s third time earning the award and Arnold’s first SDA honor.

Women’s world No. 1 Maria Elena Ubina also earned the highest player accolades, being voted both the Women’s Player of the Year and one half of the Women’s Team of the Year alongside long-time partner, Kayley Leonard. The pair claimed four titles together this season, the most of any team on either tour.

Kyle Martino was named Most Improved Male Player, earning his second SDA accolade. Martino began the season ranked world No. 15 and ended the season at world No. 6 after claiming the highest number of titles on the men’s tour with wins at the RC Pro, the Pittsburgh Challenger, the Hashim Khan Mixed Doubles, and the Buffalo Club Pro.

The Most Improved Female Player honor was awarded to Lauren West, who showed improved consistency over the course of the past two seasons, this year achieving a semifinal finish in four out of six events, taking her from world No. 7 to world No. 6.

The Men’s Rookie of the Year honors was awarded to Ashley Davies, who made his mark in just the last two events of the season, claiming a quarterfinal finish at the R&TC Open and earning second place at the Buffalo Club Pro.

Line Hansen earned the Women’s Rookie of the Year award after making it to at least the semifinals of all but one event this season and placing runner-up at the legendary Briggs Cup, earning her the ranking of world No. 12.

Canada swept the Sportsmanship Awards this season, with David Letourneau receiving the Men’s Sportsmanship Award for the second time, and Nikki Todd earning the Women’s Sportsmanship Award.

The Men’s Event of the Year was awarded to the season’s final tournament, the Buffalo Club Pro Doubles, while the Women’s Event of the Year honored both the LA Local World Open and the MFS Boston Pro Am.

View past award recipients here.

Previous articleA Recap Of The 2022-23 SDA Professional Doubles Tour
Next articleMaryland Club Becomes US Anchor for SDA Combine